Book Reviews

Showing 325–336 of 414 results

  • The Muse

    The Muse – Jessica Burton

    0 out of 5
    R285.00

    Fans of The Miniaturist, Burton’s first novel, will not be disappointed. As with the previous title, the plot treatment, in this case of past and present stories eventually intertwining, is not new.

  • The Nest

    The Nest – Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

    0 out of 5
    R330.00

    This is a fantastic debut novel with endorsements from Elizabeth Gilbert and Amy Poehler, no less. Four siblings, American upper middle class, entitled and fairly indulged, are finally about to be given access to their joint trust fund, when their eldest brother drives into a tree while under the influence of alcohol and drugs.

  • The News

    The News: A User’s Manual by Alain de Botton

    0 out of 5
    R350.00

    In his latest book, writer-philosopher Alain de Botton focuses his attention on a subject that relies upon the written word but about which not much has been written, a thing that is so familiar to us but which we seldom pause to examine the inner workings of: the news. In eight chapters, including ones titled ‘Politics’, ‘Economics’, ‘Celebrity’ and ‘Disaster’, de Botton considers the impact of this constant stream of information on us, as well as posing ways for us to read the news so that it informs us instead of enthralling us. Interesting, erudite, and original, The News: A User’s Manual is an important book for anyone who wishes to, quite simply, know more.

  • Nowhere Man

    The Nowhere Man: An Orphan X Novel – Greg Hurwits

    0 out of 5
    R295.00

    We’ve enjoyed thrillers like the bestseller I am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes, and last year the wonderfulOrphan X, the first of a series by Greg Hurwitz featuring Evan Smoak, who has definitely given poor Jack Reacher a run for his money.

  • Ocean At The End Of The Lane

    The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman

    0 out of 5
    R170.00

    Dive into a magical novel of memory and the adventure of childhood, from one of the brightest, most brilliant writers of our generation. It began for our narrator forty years ago when the family lodger stole their car and committed suicide in it, stirring up ancient powers best left undisturbed.

  • The One-in-a-Million Boy

    The One-in-a-Million Boy – Monica Wood

    0 out of 5
    R325.00

    A poignant story about the unlikely relationship between a 104-year-old Lithuanian immigrant, Ona, and an 11-year-old boy. The boy is assigned to help Ona with her household tasks for a scout’s merit badge. The two share a social awkwardness, but they form a unique bond as Ona’s prickly defences are overcome by the boy’s obsession with the Guinness World Records, and his wish to assist Ona in reaching one. Then the boy inexplicably dies and his father, Quinn, tries to better understand a son he battled to connect with. It seems he can do this through knowing Ona, and rediscovering his son through her eyes. Wood’s characters are beautifully drawn, and her writing is eloquent. The sad theme doesn’t monopolize the book emotionally. It is the peculiar beauty of the relationships between the characters which make this book so special.

  • The Other Mrs Walker

    The Other Mrs Walker by Mary Paulison-Ellis

    0 out of 5
    R310.00

    The Other Mrs Walker is a debut novel. Margaret Penny is in her 40s and returns to her mother’s flat in Edinburgh, disillusioned and in desperate need of work. She finds a job in the Office For Lost People, and her first search is for any remaining relatives of an old woman, Mrs Walker, who has died alone. When Mrs Walker dies, she leaves only a few, cryptic and discarded items to guide Margaret in her investigation. The story deepens through a series of snapshots from London in the 1930s to present day Edinburgh, and the reader glimpses cameos of the past lives of both the Penny and Walker families. A link between them is suggested and I was drawn throughout the book by the guesswork and curiosity this created.  Fluid, moving and even harrowing at times, this is a beautiful story of loss, isolation and finding one’s way regardless.

  • Outsider

    The Outsider – Stephen King

    0 out of 5
    R295.00

    Old-school horror and another masterpiece from King: The brutal (and frankly, difficult to process) murder of an 11-year-old boy and the evidence points conclusively to a Little League coach, English teacher and father Terry Maitland.

  • Sale
    Pearl Sister

    The Pearl Sister – Lucinda Riley

    0 out of 5
    R285.00 R270.00

    Christmas Choice 2017

    CeCe D’Apliese has never felt she fitted in anywhere. Following the death of her father, the elusive billionaire Pa Salt – so-called by the six daughters he adopted from around the globe and named after the Seven Sisters star cluster – she finds herself at breaking point. Dropping out of art college, CeCe watches as Star, her beloved sister, distances herself to follow her new love, leaving her completely alone. In desperation, she decides to flee England and discover her past; the only clues she has are a black-and-white photograph and the name of a woman pioneer who lived in Australia over one hundred years ago.

  • President Is Missing

    The President Is Missing – James Patterson & Bill Clinton

    0 out of 5
    R249.00

    A very exciting duo for Patterson fans: a thriller written with ex-president Clinton in which the fictional Jonathan Lincoln Duncan bears some resemblance to Clinton in personal detail.

  • Sale
    Presidents Keeper

    The President’s Keepers – Jacques Pauw

    0 out of 5
    R280.00 R265.00

    Christmas Choice 2017

    Investigative journalist Jacques Pauw exposes the darkest secret at the heart of Jacob Zuma’s compromised government: a cancerous cabal that eliminates the president’s enemies and purges the law-enforcement agencies of good men and women.

  • Prison Letters Of Nelson Mandela

    The Prison Letters of Nelson Mandela – Sahm Venter

    0 out of 5
    R425.00

    The market may be satiated with books on Nelson Mandela, but this is something quite different, and very special indeed. When he was incarcerated in 1962, Mandela had no idea that he would then proceed to spend the next twenty seven years in jail. While in prison he wrote hundreds of letters: to prison authorities; government officials; fellow activists; to Winnie and his children.