Book Reviews

Showing 337–348 of 414 results

  • The Queen of the Tearling

    The Queen of the Tearling – Erika Johansen

    0 out of 5

    The Queen of the Tearling is a debut fantasy novel and the first of a trilogy. (The movie rights of which were snapped up by Warner Bros and due for release later this year). The story is set in what appears to be medieval times, although it is in fact the 24th Century. The Tearling is a decaying society in which technology has been abandoned and books don’t matter. Kelsea Glynn is the reluctant heroine and heir to her deceased mother’s throne. She has been in hiding for her first 18 years and the novel begins with the remnants of her mother’s guard arriving to escort her to claim her throne. The Tearling has been governed by her debauched uncle until she came of age, and he appears to be nothing more than a puppet for the evil Red Queen, sorceress-tyrant of the neighbouring country. The Tearling people are suspicious, cowed and disillusioned and Kelsea has to confront her own fears and discover inner resources as she battles to win their loyalty. This is a fun, escapist and well-imagined story, whose fallible, and often amusing, heroine I warmed to hugely. I’m looking forward to the second book.

  • The Road to Little Dribbling

    The Road to Little Dribbling By Bill Bryson

    0 out of 5

    It is twenty years since Notes from a Small Island, and fifteen years since a Bryson travel book. In The Road to Little Dribbling, Bryson is back journeying in his beloved Britain. But things have changed… Once again, the pleasure of a ‘Bryson book’ is the treat of sharing its author’s perception. He manages to combine intelligent social comment and wry humour in the most captivating way. As he travels, we get to hear the lesser-known stories of small towns, and experience a wealth of quirkiness and unique cultural charm.

  • Sale
    Rooster Bar

    The Rooster Bar – John Grisham

    0 out of 5
    R315.00 R300.00

    Christmas Choice 2017

    Mark, Todd, and Zola came to law school to change the world, to make it a better place. But now, as third-year students, these close friends realize they have been duped.

  • The Runaway Woman

    The Runaway Woman by Josephine Cox

    0 out of 5

    Those looking in from the outside think Lucy Lovejoy’s life is like any other, but at the centre of her family there is a big empty hole where all the love and warmth should be.
    Over the years, her children have watched while their father chipped away at Lucy’s self-confidence. Now the children are following their own paths, and Lucy has never felt more alone. When tragedy strikes at the heart of the family, it’s a wake-up call for Lucy. Everyone has taken a little piece of her, and she isn’t sure who she is anymore.

    So when Lucy faces a betrayal from those she loves deepest, she knows that it’s time to make a choice. Is she brave enough to find herself again?

  • Selected Works Of T.S Spivet

    The Selected Works of T. S. Spivet – Reif Larsen

    0 out of 5

    T.S. Spivet is a genius mapmaker who lives on a ranch in Montana. His father is a silent cowboy and his mother is a scientist who for the last twenty years has been looking for a mythical species of beetle.

  • Seven Imperfect Rules Of Elivira Carr

    The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr – Frances Maynard

    0 out of 5

    This is a debut, rapidly gaining in popularity, which has been adopted and hand-sold by our  passionate  booksellers. Similar in subject toEleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (Gail Honeyman),but with its own charm.

  • 9780857534811

    The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett

    0 out of 5

    A poignant release for his fans, this is the last ever Discworld Novel in Pratchett’s fantastically successful series that has earned him such an overwhelming following for the past thirty years. It features Tiffany Aching again, as well as some other favourite characters, and serves as an Adieu to the realm of Discworld. Lauded one of the best British fantasy writers of all time, Pratchett has won numerous awards and medals, received an OBE and a Knighthood for his contribution to Literature.

  • Shepherds Hut

    The Shepherd’s Hut – Tim Winton

    0 out of 5

    Fans of Winton’s powerful and lyrical prose will not be disappointed by his new title, The Shepherd’s Hut. Jaxie is a teenage outcast. He has suffered frequent physical abuse from his alcoholic father.

  • Shining Girls

    The Shining Girls – Lauren Beukes

    0 out of 5

    This is a crime story with a twist. A serial killer in 1930s Chicago discovers an old abandoned house that allows its inhabitants to travel through time.

  • Silkworm

    The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

    0 out of 5

    I love this series created by the masterful writer, J K Rowling. We were introduced to Comoran Strike in Cuckoo’s Calling and the endearing sleuth is once again called on to unravel a mystery – in this case of a missing husband and writer of a manuscript that has left the publishing world scandalised. Robin, his accidentally acquired secretary, works on her detective skills and her increasingly jealous fiancée. In my mind what makes an otherwise just enjoyable mystery thriller something truly special is two things: her deft use of language, which is pure pleasure to read; and her shrewd insights into the frailties of human nature. I’m completely hooked and I hope she’s already busy writing the third!

  • Silmarillion

    The Silmarillion – J. R. R. Tolkien

    0 out of 5

    The Silmarillion is an account of the Elder Days, of the First Age of Tolkien’s world. It is the ancient drama to which the characters in The Lord of the Rings look back, and in whose events some of them such as Elrond and Galadriel took part. The tales of The Silmarillion are set in an age when Morgoth, the first Dark Lord, dwelt in Middle-Earth, and the High Elves made war upon him for the recovery of the Silmarils, the jewels containing the pure light of Valinor. Included in the book are several shorter works.

  • The Snow Queen

    The Snow Queen by Michael Cunningham

    0 out of 5

    The Snow Queen is a complex character-driven novel. Rather than following a distinct plot, it consists of a series of reflections on various events and situations as experienced by its three central characters: Barrett, who sees a strange light in the sky and starts to believe that God exists; Tyler, his brother, who is trying to write the perfect love song for his dying wife; Beth, attempting to come to terms with her mortality. The prose is elegant and understated, the descriptions so – perfect. With The Snow Queen Michael Cunningham once again demonstrates his gift for storytelling and his profound understanding of the human spirit.