Sci-fi / Fantasy

Showing 37–48 of 54 results

  • Clan Of The Cave Bear

    The Clan of the Cave Bear – Jean M. Auel

    0 out of 5

    Follow Ayla, a Cro-Magnon child who loses her parents in an earthquake and is adopted by a tribe of Neanderthal, the Clan. See how the Clan’s wary suspicion is gradually transformed into acceptance of this girl, so different from them, under the guidance of its medicine woman Iza and its wise holy man Creb.

  • cthulu-mythos-tales

    The Complete Cthulhu Mythos Tales – H. P. Lovecraft

    0 out of 5

    The Cthulhu Mythos was H.P. Lovecraft’s greatest contribution to supernatural literature.

  • Dark Powers Of Tolkien

    The Dark Powers of Tolkien – David Day

    0 out of 5

    Here in his latest book, best-selling author and Tolkien expert David Day explores Tolkien’s portrayal of evil, and the sources that inspired his work: from myth, literature and history.

  • Deathless

    The Deathless – Peter Newman

    0 out of 5

    The demons…In the endless forests of the Wild, humanity scratches a living by the side of the great Godroads, paths of crystal that provide safe passage and hold back the infernal tide. Creatures lurk within the trees, watching, and plucking those who stray too far from safety.

  • Illuminatus Trilogy

    The Illuminatus! Trilogy – Robert Shea & Robert Anton Wilson

    0 out of 5

    The three books of The Illuminatus are only partly works of the imagination. They tackle all the coverups of our time–from who really shot the Kennedys to why there’s a pyramid on a one-dollar bill.

  • The Invasion of the Tearling

    The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

    0 out of 5

    This is the second book in the Tearling Trilogy; the first is The Queen of the Tearling. A fantasy adventure tale of a girl called Kelsea – a feisty, young and fairly unlikely queen, who must learn the difficult truth of her own heritage before she can take on the evil Red Queen invading Tearling. The land of Tearling is a post-apocalyptic, yet primitive world that a few industrious survivors made the crossing to after the demise of our own world. Kelsea learns the corruptive nature of power, and her strengths and weaknesses in resisting the darker side of her own nature. Fantasy is not a genre for every taste; however, Johansen’s intelligent and contemporary characters give her books an added depth. And they are fun, well-written and strangely addictive.

  • Ocean At The End Of The Lane

    The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman

    0 out of 5

    Dive into a magical novel of memory and the adventure of childhood, from one of the brightest, most brilliant writers of our generation. It began for our narrator forty years ago when the family lodger stole their car and committed suicide in it, stirring up ancient powers best left undisturbed.

  • The Queen of the Tearling

    The Queen of the Tearling – Erika Johansen

    0 out of 5

    The Queen of the Tearling is a debut fantasy novel and the first of a trilogy. (The movie rights of which were snapped up by Warner Bros and due for release later this year). The story is set in what appears to be medieval times, although it is in fact the 24th Century. The Tearling is a decaying society in which technology has been abandoned and books don’t matter. Kelsea Glynn is the reluctant heroine and heir to her deceased mother’s throne. She has been in hiding for her first 18 years and the novel begins with the remnants of her mother’s guard arriving to escort her to claim her throne. The Tearling has been governed by her debauched uncle until she came of age, and he appears to be nothing more than a puppet for the evil Red Queen, sorceress-tyrant of the neighbouring country. The Tearling people are suspicious, cowed and disillusioned and Kelsea has to confront her own fears and discover inner resources as she battles to win their loyalty. This is a fun, escapist and well-imagined story, whose fallible, and often amusing, heroine I warmed to hugely. I’m looking forward to the second book.

  • 9780857534811

    The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett

    0 out of 5

    A poignant release for his fans, this is the last ever Discworld Novel in Pratchett’s fantastically successful series that has earned him such an overwhelming following for the past thirty years. It features Tiffany Aching again, as well as some other favourite characters, and serves as an Adieu to the realm of Discworld. Lauded one of the best British fantasy writers of all time, Pratchett has won numerous awards and medals, received an OBE and a Knighthood for his contribution to Literature.

  • Silmarillion

    The Silmarillion – J. R. R. Tolkien

    0 out of 5

    The Silmarillion is an account of the Elder Days, of the First Age of Tolkien’s world. It is the ancient drama to which the characters in The Lord of the Rings look back, and in whose events some of them such as Elrond and Galadriel took part. The tales of The Silmarillion are set in an age when Morgoth, the first Dark Lord, dwelt in Middle-Earth, and the High Elves made war upon him for the recovery of the Silmarils, the jewels containing the pure light of Valinor. Included in the book are several shorter works.

  • Way Of Kings

    The Stormlight Archive #01: The Way of Kings – Brandon Sanderson

    0 out of 5

    According to mythology mankind used to live in The Tranquiline Halls. Heaven. But then the Voidbringers assaulted and captured heaven, casting out God and men. Men took root on Roshar, the world of storms. And the Voidbringers followed…They came against man ten thousand times.

  • Three Body Problem

    The Three-Body Problem – Cixin Liu

    0 out of 5

    1967: Ye Wenjie witnesses Red Guards beat her father to death during China’s Cultural Revolution. This singular event will shape not only the rest of her life but also the future of mankind.