The Muse – Jessica Burton

R285.00

Fans of The Miniaturist, Burton’s first novel, will not be disappointed. As with the previous title, the plot treatment, in this case of past and present stories eventually intertwining, is not new.

View Detail
Compare
SKU: 9781447250968 Categories: ,

Description

Fans of The Miniaturist, Burton’s first novel, will not be disappointed. As with the previous title, the plot treatment, in this case of past and present stories eventually intertwining, is not new. However, Burton’s deft ability and talent as a writer results in a unique and captivating story. It begins with Odelle, in London in the 60’s and switches back and forth to Olive, in Spain in the 30’s. Odelle is a young Trinidadian and writer, trying to forge a new life: and Olive is an aspiring artist, yet unrecognized by her art-dealer father. The two women are connected by a painting, the mysterious artist Isaac Robles and other intriguing parallels: each is trying in her own way to create and develop an identity in roles that are uncommon for women. Burton creates suspense that keeps the reader compelled to the end. Highly recommended.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Muse – Jessica Burton”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two × 3 =